Malko conducting competition 2015: registration open

- 25 October 2013

With a first prize of €20,000 and a diary of 34 engagements &#8210 including performances with the Danish National Symphony Orchestra and the Vienna Philharmonic &#8210 worth another €150,000, the winner of the 2015 Malko conducting competition will find the competition a transformative moment in his or her career.

Lorin Maazel, president of the jury, will act as a mentor for the winner over a three-year period, and will also be composing a new work, for around 45 players, for the 2015 competition.

The host for the competition, which will run 25 April-1 May 2015, will again be the Danish National Symphony Orchestra, based in Copenhagen.

The competition’s most recent winners are Rafael Payare (2012) and Joshua Weilerstein (2009, below).

Joshua Wilerstein Photo: Jakob Boserup

Joshua Weilerstein, winner of the 2009 Malko Competition
Photo: Jakob Boserup

Organisers are proud of the competition’s ability to showcase the reduced number of 24 participants ‘before the whole world’. The 2015 competition will see the introduction of an extra round, ‘In order to have the best conditions to see the potential in even the most uncut diamond, we have decided to make the way to the competition longer and the entrance requirements tougher,’ says Jakob Soelberg, president of the competition.

Applications are now open. Deadline for applications is 15 August 2014.

Comments are closed.